Why do Republicans hate disabled children?

Hyperbole?  Sure.  But not too much.  When you look at the impact of what they just voted upon, an entirely reasonable question.  NYT yesterday (written before the damnable vote):

With all the sweeping changes the Republican bill would impose, little attention has been paid to its potential impact on education. School districts rely on Medicaid, the federal health care program for the poor, to provide costly services to millions of students with disabilities across the country. For nearly 30 years, Medicaid has helped school systems cover costs for special education services and equipment, from physical therapists to feeding tubes. The money is also used to provide preventive care, such as vision and hearing screenings, for other Medicaid-eligible children.

“If I could have 10 minutes with President Trump, I could help him understand what we do, why it’s important,” Ms. Glenn said. “If he understood, he would protect it, because this isn’t Republicans and Democrats. It’s just kids.” …

The new law would cut Medicaid by $880 billion, or 25 percent, over 10 years and impose a “per-capita cap” on funding for certain groups of people, such as children and the elderly — a dramatic change that would convert Medicaid from an entitlement designed to cover any costs incurred to a more limited program…

The advocates argued that under the House bill, the federal government would transfer the burden of health care to states, which would result in higher taxes, eligibility cuts or curtailed services for children. And they said that schools would have to compete for funding with other entities, like hospitals and clinics, that serve Medicaid-eligible children.

The ability of school systems to provide services mandated under the federal Individuals With Disabilities Education Act would be strained. The law is supposed to ensure that students with disabilities receive high-quality educational services, but it has historically been underfunded.

You know what, I’m just pissed enough to go out on a profane limb…  These Republicans just literally don’t f***ing care about disabled children unless they are related to them.  What else can you conclude from legislation like this?

So, this is my disabled child at Special Olympics on Wednesday (it was awesome).  (And more photos if you are so inclined).  My family is good.  We’re lucky.  We’re in a wealthier school system and we are upper-middle class.  All because I worked harder and am better than all those losers and moochers!  (Sorry, Paul Ryan took over that last sentence).  But I realize I’m lucky.  I want all the families with kids like Alex to have the services they need.  And with the cuts Republicans propose, they just won’t get them.  But I care a lot about those kids.  I guess that’s why I’m a Democrat and I think the Republican “pro-life” party has become an utter moral abomination.

About Steve Greene
Professor of Political Science at NC State http://faculty.chass.ncsu.edu/shgreene

4 Responses to Why do Republicans hate disabled children?

  1. Nicole K says:

    I’ve heard many republicans say that if Jesus was alive today he would be a republican. Maybe they should read what he taught again:

    31 “When the Son of Man comes in his glory, and all the angels with him, he will sit on his glorious throne. 32 All the nations will be gathered before him, and he will separate the people one from another as a shepherd separates the sheep from the goats. 33 He will put the sheep on his right and the goats on his left.

    34 “Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world. 35 For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, 36 I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’

    37 “Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? 38 When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? 39 When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’

    40 “The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’

    41 “Then he will say to those on his left, ‘Depart from me, you who are cursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels. 42 For I was hungry and you gave me nothing to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me nothing to drink, 43 I was a stranger and you did not invite me in, I needed clothes and you did not clothe me, I was sick and in prison and you did not look after me.’

    44 “They also will answer, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry or thirsty or a stranger or needing clothes or sick or in prison, and did not help you?’

    45 “He will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did not do for one of the least of these, you did not do for me.’

    46 “Then they will go away to eternal punishment, but the righteous to eternal life.”

    Throwing the poor, elderly, disabled and sick under the bus is just so hard for me to understand. How can this be ok?

  2. Mika says:

    You had a sunny day 🙂 Here’s hoping Republican senators have some decency.

    • Steve Greene says:

      1) Oh, the weather was perfect, perfect his year (last year it was more like 90F). 2) Oh, I’m not counting on any decency, just the different political imperatives than come with being a Senator.

Leave a Reply

