Photo of the day

Some of my happiest early childhood memories were visits to Gatlinburg, Tennessee when visiting my grandmother in western North Carolina (Swannanoa , to be precise).  Probably haven’t been there since I was 10 or younger, but I sure remember riding up the side of a mountain on a skylift with my big sister.  Anyway, I knew there were fires in the area, but had not realized that the town itself was at risk.  In Focus with a photo gallery of the wildfires in the area:

Burned structures are seen from a National Guard helicopter near Gatlinburg on November 29, 2016.

Erik Schelzig / AP
About Steve Greene
Professor of Political Science at NC State http://faculty.chass.ncsu.edu/shgreene

2 Responses to Photo of the day

  1. Jon K says:

    When I was in Asheville at my parent’s house for Thanksgiving I was shocked at how smokey it was outside. If you were outside you smelled smoke and it was like that for most of the time I was there. Sad thing is that there hasn’t really been any lightning, so these fires are likely either the result of careless smokers (best case) or arson. They have pretty significant rewards being offered to try and catch those responsible. I hope they are successful.

    • Steve Greene says:

      Yeah, I was probably only 30-40 miles from you in Burnsville and that smoke was something else. At some point we drove over a mountain into a valley and it was just filled with smoke like a foggy day.

Leave a Reply

