My son had a horrible day and it made me happy

I know, I’m a monster.  My oldest (just 17) has always been kind of interested in politics, mostly because he’s an inquisitive kid and likes to have me explain things to him.  Nothing I’m better at explaining, than politics (I think).  So, he knows a lot about it, and is a good liberal, but has never shown any particular interest.  Yesterday, he came home from school and told me he had had a bad day because he was so upset about the election.  He said he was anti-social because he was afraid he’d say some things he would regret.  He used all his free time in school to read up on the election in the New York Times, the Guardian, and the Raleigh News & Observer.  Whoa!

Yes, of course I wish that he didn’t feel so bad, but I was so pleased to see he is not only intellectually interested in politics, but that he cares enough to take this hard.  And, yeah, he’ll tell me he really enjoyed reading something that I left open on the computer, but I’ve never known him to see out political information on his own.  Okay, I suppose I would trade a Clinton presidency for more disinterest in my son, but if Donald Trump has gotten him to take a real and genuine interest in politics, that’s a very nice silver lining for me.

About Steve Greene
Professor of Political Science at NC State http://faculty.chass.ncsu.edu/shgreene

Leave a Reply

