I’m sorry

I’m sorry I don’t have more cogent and interesting things to share with you tonight.  I’m finding a detached numbness best serving my mental health.

I’m sorry that my country sucks.  I’m sorry that my state sucks.  I’m sorry that a plurality of Americans thinks the most obviously unfit man, perhaps ever, to run for president somehow deserves the office (if nothing else, recall the absolutely unprecedented number of Republican newspapers and conservative thinkers that endorsed Clinton).

I’m sorry that racists, xenophobes, anti-semites, and misogynists will now obviously feel empowered.

I’m sorry that our media treated Trump like he was never going to win, so, “locker room talk” aside, they never had to seriously question his breathtaking unfitness for office.

I’m sorry that polling is clearly in crisis.  I study public opinion for a living.  This stuff matters to me.  I believe in what we do as social scientists.  And I still do.  But when it comes to predicting elections?  Well, damn.

And some point I’m sure I’ll want to write a lot.  That point is not tonight.

About Steve Greene
Professor of Political Science at NC State http://faculty.chass.ncsu.edu/shgreene

5 Responses to I’m sorry

  1. R. Jenrette says:

    Some say “The ends justify the means”. Others argue that in fact the means determine the ends.
    Can a political campaign win using the tactics of nativism, fear, anger, resentment, and disregard for civil discourse and facts produce an administration that creates respect for the others, unity, civil civic discourse, and fact based decisions?
    That idea will be tested in coming days.

  2. Graham says:

    I’m heartbroken after walking through my Muslim/Arab neighborhood in Dearborn with my engineer girlfriend (wearing her suit) to vote for a highly qualified female candidate. My girlfriend who spent her free time canvassing for Hillary. My girlfriend whose engineering judgment is constantly questioned by her male coworkers despite her Ivy League engineering degrees and the fact that she has repaired more automotive issues than most of her male coworkers. And now my girlfriend, whose grandpa was one of the sole family survivors of the holocaust, who now has her head set on moving to Germany.

    I’d feel bad or immodest about bragging about her, but apparently our culture can’t handle impressive women. We won’t be moving to Germany (well, in a reactionary manner – we have had some shorter assignments in mind since our last vacation…) and we’ll do our best to promote reason and understanding

Leave a Reply

