Observations on my national media fame

So, I was on CNN today!  Watch here.  Don’t worry, it only will take 7 seconds of your time, starting about 32 seconds in.

Or, if you don’t feel like watching, it’s just a 3 1/2 minute piece on how the presidential campaigns are battling over North Carolina (and how the Clinton campaign seems to be way out ahead on this).  What was interesting in thinking about this was how much effort went into a 3 1/2 minute segment.  Not only was the on-air reporter there (and she was really smart and knew her stuff), but her producer, and the cameraman who had way more and more impressive equipment than the local people.

They spent an hour with me for that 7 seconds.  Not to mention time and effort on the part of the producer just arranging the interview.  Now, I’d like to think I gave them way more than 7 seconds of benefit by providing all sorts of good analysis to help shape their story, but still, that was an hour of work with just a few seconds visual to show for it.  Plus, the Clinton HQ, plus Trump people, plus the suburban Republican women in the Cary Whole Foods parking lot (I was pleased to recognize the location I suggested), and maybe even more shots I’m forgetting.

Wow.  That was a lot of work and surely not cheap.  But good for CNN.  From an economic standpoint, you can certainly understand why they would rather have a couple of talking heads just arguing in a studio.

But, hey, I’m glad I got my 7 seconds.  And even though I though my point was rather anodyne, my wife was impressed enough :-).

 

 

About Steve Greene
Professor of Political Science at NC State http://faculty.chass.ncsu.edu/shgreene

Leave a Reply

