I just had a nice conversation with my Republican neighbor

So, this is a pretty interesting chart from Pew about how political and demographic factors affect our perceived likelihood of making friends with new neighbors.

Meet the neighbors: Partisan differences over traits of new community members

As much as I hate guns, I really have no idea if my neighbors even own any.  Never comes up.  You know what helps– sports.  That is the male universal for making friendships easier.  And I’ll admit to finding it easier, in general, with fellow college grads (though the neighbor I hang out with the most runs a flooring crew and never went to college).  Though the biggest thing that makes it easy– having kids.  Anyway, interesting stuff.

Oh, and I did have a fun conversation with my Republican neighbor earlier tonight when she came by to ask about the tree service we recently used.  We joked that it was nice to have the doorbell be a neighbor and not the usual of a Jehovah’s Witness or a random solicitation.

About Steve Greene
Professor of Political Science at NC State http://faculty.chass.ncsu.edu/shgreene

2 Responses to I just had a nice conversation with my Republican neighbor

  1. Mika says:

    I’ve no idea how my neighbors identify politically. Except for one who is a member of parliament, her party I know 🙂

  2. itchy says:

    Lucky for you, the poll didn’t include:

    “Is a Jehovah’s Witness”
    “Whose hobbies include random solicitation”

Leave a Reply

