Liberal Japanese-Americans

Okay, so oddly enough, I’ve become temporarily obsessed with the politics of Asian-Americans.  Pew did a great big survey last year where they got at least 500 respondents from 6 major ethnic groups and asked all sorts of interesting questions.  You can see their report here.  I actually looked through all the basic frequencies and there’ s lots of intriguing stuff.  I hope to play around with the actual data when Pew releases it.   Anyway, I thought the differences on abortion and gay marriage– where Japanese stand out in their liberal-ness– were pretty interesting:

japanese

 

Also interesting that Filipinos are quite tolerant of homosexuals, but least in favor of legal abortion.  Obviously, I don’t have any expertise at all to explain the differences across these groups, but I would love to know more what is causing them.

About Steve Greene
Professor of Political Science at NC State http://faculty.chass.ncsu.edu/shgreene

Leave a comment