Political Science Kool-Aid

As you know, I’m not afraid to share some of the more unsavory things my students have written about me in course evaluations.  This one from last semester just struck me as really, really odd:

strengths- instructor has a reasonably informed grasp on the subject matter, albeit he often drinks the poli-sci koolaid and thinks polls and historical trends can explain almost all election outcomes and voting behavior;

Wow– never had an accusation like that before.  Apparently, the entire study of elections– which many people far, far smarter than I have devoted their professional lives to understanding, is little more than “poli-sci koolaid.”  I wonder if the student thinks this about all his/her classes in which the explanations the professor provide about politics don’t comport with the explanations offered by pundits.  Part of me wonders if this is just an angry Tea Party supporter who feels like I didn’t give them enough credit.  Regardless, an interesting commentary.

About Steve Greene
Professor of Political Science at NC State http://faculty.chass.ncsu.edu/shgreene

3 Responses to Political Science Kool-Aid

  1. Jason says:

    I like that you have “a reasonably informed grasp on the subject matter.” You should feel honored to have such a compliment bestowed on you by the obviously more insightful student! My favorite comment from a student was a LONG paragraph about how I was attempting to brainwash my students into accepting my liberal views, with the only evidence offered that when I mentioned Robert Byrd (in passing, as someone who was successful in bringing home lots of money to West Virginia) I didn’t immediately also state that he was once in the KKK.

  2. My favorite criticism from TTU: I should never teach that class (American and TX public policy) in the south. Could have been because I talk too fast or just presented too many inconvenient truths. Never could figure out which.

Leave a Reply

