The Slate Political Gabfest and me

So, a few weeks ago, David Plotz, the editor of Slate stumbled across the blog and was kind enough to send me an email (I certainly do enjoy blogging about Slate stories and will continue to do so) and in the course of our correspondence, he invited me to stop by next time I was in DC.  So, just so happens I’m in DC for the annual meeting of the American Political Science Association, and I came by the Slate offices and David showed me around before I was going to listen in on the weekly Slate Political Gabfest (with David, John Dickerson, and Emily Bazelon).  I’m a huge fan of the Gabfest– really fun, entertaining discussion about the week’s political news, so obviously, I was pretty excited about this.  David and I talked a little about my research on parenthood and politics before the show and he found it so interesting as to invite me to do a guest “cocktail chatter” segment at the end of the show.

It was an awesome experience.  To actually be part of a show of which I’ve long been a huge fan was hugely rewarding, if not quite a “lifelong dream.”  You can listen here (or download at the page as well) as well as get the podcast on Itunes (search for Slate Political Gabfest).  The whole show is fun and worth listening to, but you can catch just my segment beginning at about 34:30 in.

