Video of the day

If you love the Princess Bride– this is awesome.  If you don’t– what’s wrong with you?

About Steve Greene
Professor of Political Science at NC State http://faculty.chass.ncsu.edu/shgreene

4 Responses to Video of the day

  1. Mike from Canada says:

    “If you love the Princess Bride– this is awesome. If you don’t– what’s wrong with you?”

    Umm, I’m an adult human male?

    • Steve Greene says:

      Hmmm. I would reply a humorless adult human male, but you’ve already proven otherwise. I’m going to chalk it up to the Canadian factor :-).

      • Mike from Canada says:

        Alright, I admit it. I’ve never seen it. Just the name “The Princess Bride” sends shivers down my spine with a feeling of impending dread. Two hours of “le chick flick”. So I admit it, I didn’t watch it based entirely on the title of the movie.

        I have watched Skyfall with my son the other day. Really great show, horrible, horrible seats. I would have enjoyed it more but my legs, hips and back were in agony, constantly moving around trying to find a comfortable spot, and twitching in response to the fight scenes. In one particular fight scene had there been a person in the seat in front of me they would have gotten a kick in the head.

        The last three Bond movies have been well done but SkyFall has been growing on me more every day and I am looking forward to watching it in the comfort of my own home. Oh, yes, the sound in the theater was not good, they had the system cranked up too high and it was actually hurting my ears in parts. Perhaps this is for the new generation who, apparently, are going deaf younger then ever because of listening to ipods too loud.

        I watched Fire and Ice, The Winter War of Finland and Russia (2006) at home the other day. A very interesting documentary about how Finland, with a small, almost negligible armed forces a few old tanks a little artillery managed to fight off a massive Russian army.

        I generally prefer WW1 and WW2 documentaries over movies with the word “princess” and “bride” in the title. Yes, I know that’s judging the book by the cover…

      • Steve Greene says:

        I never really considered Princess Bride a chick-flick at all. I’m not a particularly big fan of the genre. Rather, it’s a silly, incredibly funny, children’s tale for kids of all ages.

        Really looking forward to seeing Skyfall (in comfortable seats, I should hope). Plan on making it my oldest son’s first Bond movie.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 529 other followers

