Obama press release in NYT

In my media class I often complain about the Press as Stenographer.  I’m really not sure about the value of simply having Obama’s chief strategist, David Plouffe, sound off on what he thinks about the debate, etc., in the NYT.  Actually, I found it quite interesting, but I really question the news value of having a clear partisan the opportunity to make a clear partisan argument in the news pages.  What I hate about the TV coverage is all the time they waste on a bunch of Democratic strategists giving the Democratic line while Republican strategists give the Republican line.  That does nothing.  That said, Plouffe actually give an analysis that I think is not all that partisan and pretty accurate:

Polls in September that showed Mr. Obama with a lead of eight or more percentage points in Ohio and elsewhere were a “fantasy,” he said. The president’s margin of victory in battleground states was going to be “one, two, three, four points at most.”

“In those states, if the election were held today, I’m as confident as anything I’ve been in my life, that we would win the election,” Mr. Plouffe said. “I assume tonight’s debate performance will strengthen that a little bit. I think it will provide some more excitement for Democrats and our supporters as Romney got additional enthusiasm off his debate.”

“But the structure of the race is pretty established,” he added.

Maybe it’s spin, but it’s also not all that different from what I and others have been arguing.  Still, I want my analysis from analysts, not campaign strategists.

About Steve Greene
Professor of Political Science at NC State http://faculty.chass.ncsu.edu/shgreene

One Response to Obama press release in NYT

  1. Mike from Canada says:

    This is exactly why I no longer watch the news. I want facts, and as an objective interpretation as possible if the subject is complicated. But that doesn’t happen anymore. We don’t hear about complex subjects, just two political talking heads arguing with each other.
    That isn’t news and it isn’t helpful.
    It’s just filling air time until the next paid commercial comes on.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 573 other followers

