More asymmetry

Clearing out my open Chrome tabs and came across this Suzy Khimm post I meant to share:

In an article published in last month’s American Political Science Review, John Bullock evaluates how partisan voters weighed a policy change — a proposed cut to Medicaid benefits — sometimes including the views of party leaders and sometimes not. His main findings:

People rarely possess even a modicum of information about policies; but when they do, their attitudes seem to be affected at least as much by that information as by cues from party elites…Contrary to many accounts, they suggest that party cues do not inhibit such thinking. This is not cause for unbridled optimism about citizens’ ability to make good decisions, but it is reason to be more sanguine about their ability to use information about policy when they have it…Party cues are influential, but partisans in these experiments are generally affected at least as much—and sometimes much more—by exposure to substantial amounts of policy information.

Bullock also noted that non-partisan policy information tended to influence Democrats more than Republicans:

Republicans were less influenced than Democrats by policy considerations, and while need for cognition [“the extent to which people enjoy thinking”] made Democrats more responsive to policy, it made Republicans less responsive. [emphasis mine].  More research is required to determine whether these results reflect basic differences between members of different parties.

Wow– that’s quite interesting and quite an asymmetry.  Got that? The more Republicans have a need for cognition, the more they purposely bury their head in the sand about policy information.  Of course, what I really want to know is what exactly is it about Republicans that makes them less responsive to actual policy information.  That “more research” Bullock refers to is definitely needed.  When I get a chance, I’m going to skim through the actual article and see what it suggests.

Video (link) of the day

Cannot figure out why NPR would be using videos that are not embeddable even when using Vodpod (what I end up doing to embed all non-Youtube videos).  So, just take a second and follow the link about persons names that have become nouns.  Now, I knew about Guillotin and Sandwich, but had no idea that terms such as shrapnel, silhouette, and dunce actually come from real person’s names.  Pretty cool.

The Romney surge?

Not only is the Post writing stories about Romney’s improving fortunes, but even noted Romney skeptic, Jon Chait is coming around:

I have spent more than a year predicting the electoral demise of Mitt Romney. Here is a Mormon, once fervently pro-choice candidate running to lead an electorate whipped into a frenzied belief that Barack Obama’s health-care plan poses the most dire threat to liberty in American history, having imposed virtually the same plan in Massachusetts himself. Indeed, the economist who designed Romneycare also designed the Affordable Care Act. Romney has tried to elide the problem by citing a state-federal distinction that nobody actually cares about in practice, but even that turns out to be false, as Romney once supported the hated individual mandate at the federal level.

And yet here he is, poised to assume the Republican nomination as Rick Perry tries to stave off a total implosion

we may see a man walk into the nomination of a party whose electorate is dying to vote against him, simply because nobody else could stand in his path without keeling over.

Indeed.  As you know, I enjoy tracking the Intrade markets (even if my wife still forbids me from participating– yes, I know I could do it surreptiously, but that’s no way to have a marriage) and it’s quite interesting to see the dramatic movement in both Perry and Romney of late.  These markets aren’t perfect, but I think they are a much better indicator of relative standing and conventional wisdom than are the polls.  Here’s Romney’s latest chart:

Check out that giant jump in the past week or so.  In contrast, Perry:

Pretty clear where all the Romney gains have come from.  There’s a long way to go and I think Perry has too many resources to just disappear, but this is certainly an interesting development.

The wealth gap

Wow– what a great discussion has taken place on my post yesterday on the fertility divide.   One commenter briefly mentioned the differences in wealth and it reminded me of a terrific, recent NPR series on the wealth gap in America.  Not what you earn, but simply accumulated family wealth, and this makes a big difference.  From part 1 of the series:

Here’s a startling figure: The typical white family has 20 times the wealth of the median black family. That’s the largest gap in 25 years. The recession widened the racial wealth gap, but experts say it’s also due to deeply ingrained differences in things such as inheritance, home ownership, taxes and even expectations.

Take the example of two California women, Dametra Williams and Stephanie Upp, who aren’t that different in many ways. Both were raised by single mothers who struggled financially. Both worked hard to get where they are today.

But how they describe basically the same thing about how they got to where they are today differs.

Wealth Gap Grows

Median wealth (1984-2007)

Median Wealth (1984-20007)

Williams is 40, black and a single mother of one. She just started her own business.
“It’s funny, the American dream is sort of steeped in this myth of work hard, be self-sufficient and push yourself forward, pull yourself up by your bootstraps, that kind of thing. But much of the wealth in this country was not built on that, in no way, fashion or form,” Williams says.

Upp, 43, is white, a mother of two and a part-time consultant.

“I think about the little things, like when I went to college. When I graduated, my mom had enough resources to give me her car so that I had a car to get to work so that I could earn money that I could then save to help put me into the next position,” Upp says. “I could then save more money and have opportunities. So it wasn’t like we had a lot, but there was enough. I didn’t do it all by myself.”

And that’s the difference. Study after study shows that white families are more likely than blacks and Hispanics to enjoy certain economic advantages — even when their incomes are similar. Often it’s the subtle things: help from Mom and Dad with a down payment on a home or college tuition, or a tax break on money passed from one generation to the next.

Yep.  It’s really easy to overlook this, but its also really important.    I’ve certainly seen the direct benefits in my life.  Sure, my parents had enough income to live in a neighborhood with great schools, to send me to Duke, and that passed on some excellent genes for motivation, delay of gratification, and cognitive ability (apparently, I’ve failed to pass those first two on to my progeny).  But, the very fact of accumulated wealth in my family has always meant there’s a safety net.  I’m far too cautious by nature to be the entrepreneurial type, but if I was so inclined, I could actually take huge risks– maybe one that would pay off big, precisely because I know I have my family safety net to fall back on.  If I or one of my family had a catastrophic health issue I wouldn’t end up bankrupt and homeless because, again, I know I could fall back on my family.  There’s nothing I have done to earn that.  But, like a typical white person, I am much more likely to benefit from this accumulated wealth than a typical minority.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 514 other followers

