Media vs. Republican base

As you’ve gathered, I had better things to do last night than watch the debate (I went with reading Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of Nimh to my oldest followed up by watching a PBS documentary on construction of the 9/11 Memorial).  I don’t have better things to do, though, than to read interesting post-debate commentary.  The insight I like best so far belongs to Chait:

Yet Perry, stylistically, ruled the roost. The media seems to consider Romney the winner. Pardon the condescension, but they’re not thinking like Republican base voters. Romney approaches every question as if he is in an actual debate, trying to provide the most intellectually compelling answer available, within the bounds of political expediency. Perry treats questions as interruptions. What scientists do you trust on climate change? I don’t want to risk the economy. Are you taking a radical position on social security?  We can have reasons or we can have results. His total liberation from the constraints of reason [emphasis mine] give Perry a chance to represent the Republican id in a way Romney simply cannot match.

That strikes me as about right. I think we can be quite confident that your average political journalist does not think at all like a GOP base voter. In fact, most sane people don’t.

About Steve Greene
Professor of Political Science at NC State http://faculty.chass.ncsu.edu/shgreene

6 Responses to Media vs. Republican base

  1. Jason says:

    No comment on the Republican debate, but I am also reading Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH to my oldest! (Perhaps I mentioned that to you, in which case the coincidence is a bit less surprising…) It was my favorite book until The Mysterious Island took the spot in 6th grade, and I’m still enjoying it as an adult.

  2. itchy says:

    What the … ? I just finished reading Mrs. Frisby to my daughter last month!

  3. Steve Greene says:

    Actually, this was definitely my favorite book in elementary school and I’ve been planning on reading it for a while. Several times, I offered it to David among other choices and he chose otherwise. This time, I didn’t give a choice. I am finding it enjoyable, but part of me is wondering why I loved it so much. I guess I just really loved the idea of super-intelligent rats. I also like that now I actually know what NIMH stands for :-). As for the coincidence of all this, great minds…

  4. You ask for me to stop insulting you and then you go and make a blog post like this claiming that most mainstream repuclicans are insane, talk about the heights of arrogance and condascension sir, you need to apologize.
    John Wilder

  5. Steve Greene says:

    Oh, this is ridiculous, John. There’s hyperbolic insults to the very generic “Republican base voter,” and then there’s directly calling another individual stupid, etc. I’m pretty sure I’ve never directly personally insulted you or any other readers.

  6. Yes but can’t you see this is the same as me claiming that you are drinking the democratic liberal Kool aid. It is arrogant in the extreme to insult all republicans who tend to be very well educated and highly intelligent to claim that we are all insane. I have two degrees went to grad school as well as nursing school and that is so average for the typical repub.

    John Wilder

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 466 other followers

